Colleton County Clerk of Court Run-Off


In a much anticipated run off, the official results for Colleton County Clerk of Court show Sherry Akins-Robinson as the winner for the Democratic Primary. Akins-Robinson received 63.06% of the vote equaling 1,147 voters. Wanda Taylor garnered 36.94% of the vote representing 672 voters. There were 1,819 ballots cast out of 24,430 registered voters in this run-off. As previously reported former Clerk of Court Becky Hill resigned in March of 2024 amidst controversy. Initially, Colleton County Probate Judge Cecil Utsey IV was appointed by Governor Henry McMaster to run the Clerk’s office until a permanent clerk was appointed or elected. Subsequently, Patricia C. Grant, former Clerk of Court for Colleton County was appointed by Governor McMaster to fill the vacancy. Sherry Akins-Robinson will run against Republican Gary Hale in the November General Election.