AASA Awards Mini-Grants to School Districts Across the Nation


For the Press & Standard

On Tuesday, Jan. 17, the School Superintendents Association (AASA), announced the recipients of the 2023 “Helping Kids Mini-Grants”, a program funded by AASA, and supported by its government cooperative procurement partner, Sourcewell.

This year, $108,000 in funds have been distributed to 35 school districts across the country and have been used for everything from urgent everyday necessities to disaster relief. As a continuation of AASA’s “Live Well. Lead Well.” initiative, AASA is providing these funds to districts for assistance with promoting healthy students, healthy staff and healthy buildings. In addition, funds are also being provided to districts impacted by 2022 natural disasters.

“AASA wants to help. As the nation’s premier organization serving public school districts and school district leadership, a major part of what we stand for is to help school districts, especially those who need our help the most,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “We thank Sourcewell for making this relief effort possible. This partnership speaks to the unparalleled commitment being made to school districts nationwide.”

“Our mission at Sourcewell is to be a source multiplier. This is an opportunity where we can work with AASA and school districts to make a real difference with students, families, and the communities in which these families live,” said Chad Coauette, executive director, chief executive officer, Sourcewell. “We are so proud of the longstanding relationship we have with AASA. Through this relationship, we are grateful to play a small role in helping to establish stability on behalf of the honorees, especially in the uncertain times we’re in.”

For 2023, the following school districts were chosen to receive the AASA/Sourcewell “Helping Kids Mini-Grants.”

Adams 12 Five Star Schools:

Thornton, Colo.

Superintendent: Chris Gdowski

Abington School District

Abington, Pa.

Superintendent: Jeffrey Fecher

Bozrah School District / Fields Memorial School

Bozrah, Conn.

Superintendent: Denise Grant

Brush School District RE – 2J

Brush, Colo.

Superintendent: William Wilson

Colleton County School District

Walterboro, S.C.

Superintendent: Vallerie Cave

Dallas School District 2

Dallas, Ore.

Superintendent: Steve Spencer

Glens Falls Common School District

Glens Falls, N.Y.

Superintendent: Brian George

Highlands School District

Natrona Heights, Pa.

Superintendent: Monique Mawhinney

Intermediate District 287

Plymouth, Minn.

Superintendent: Marcy Doud

Kuspuk School District

Aniak, Alaska

Superintendent: Madeline Aguillard

Savannah-Chatham County Public Schools

Savannah, Ga.

Superintendent: Ann Levett

School District of Mellen

Mellen, Wis.

Superintendent: Rhonda Elhorst-Friemoth

Susquenita School District

Duncannon, Pa.

Superintendent: Jon-David Fox

Washington Local Schools

Toledo, Ohio

Superintendent: Kadee Anstadt

West Yellowstone School District

West Yellowstone, Mont.

Superintendent: Coul Hill

Woodland Community Consolidated School District 50

Gurnee, Ill.

Superintendent: Robert Machak

The following school districts were chosen to receive disaster relief funds through the program.

Beaufort County Schools

Washington, N.C.

Superintendent: Matthew Cheeseman

Brunswick County Schools

Bolivia, N.C.

Superintendent: Jerry Oates

Carteret County Public Schools

Beaufort, N.C.

Superintendent: Richard Paylor

Charlotte County Public Schools

Port Charlotte, Fla.

Superintendent: Steve Dionisio

Collier County Public Schools

Naples, Fla.

Superintendent: Kamela Patton

The School District of DeSoto County

Arcadia, Fla.

Superintendent: Bobby Bennett

Flagler Schools

Bunnell, Fla.

Superintendent: Cathy Mittelstadt

Georgetown County School District

Georgetown, S.C.

Superintendent: Keith Price

Glades County School District

Moore Haven, Fla.

Superintendent: Beth Barfield

Hardee County Schools

Wauchula, Fla.

Superintendent: Bob Shayman

The School Board of Highlands County

Sebring, Fla.

Superintendent: Brenda Longshore

Hillsborough County Public Schools

Tampa, Fla.

Superintendent: Addison Davis

The School District of Lee County

Ft. Myers, Fla.

Superintendent: Christopher Bernier

School District of Manatee County

Bradenton, Fla.

Superintendent: Cynthia Saunders

Onslow County School District

Jacksonville, N.C.

Superintendent: Barry D. Collins

The School District of Osceola County

Kissimmee, Fla.

Superintendent: Debra Pace

Sarasota County Schools

Sarasota, Fla.

Superintendent: Brennan Asplen

Volusia County School District

Deland, Fla.

Superintendent: Carmen Balgobin

Ponce Education Region of the

Puerto Rico Department of Education

Ponce, Puerto Rico

Superintendent: Roberto Rodriguez

Since 2012, AASA and Sourcewell have worked together to create the mini-grant program. For additional questions, please contact Leigh Hines at leigh.hines@aasa.org.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here