Colleton County School District recognitions


At the February 20 Colleton County School District School Board meeting many students, teachers, support staff, and coaches were recognized for their achievements.

Student achievements recognized were:

1st grade from Forest Hills Elementary—Emily Johnson

8th grade from Colleton County Middle School—Nikki Gabriel

12th grade from Thunderbolt Career and Technology Center—Monisha Jenkins

Colleton Adult Learning Center—Jessica Sanchez

WIDA Access Students:

CCHS—Sandra Luna Meija

CCHS—Sambhav Kumar

CCMS—Zeth Marin

Also recognized were student athletes in the district:

These athletes were voted Best of the Best in their sport in the 4A Region 7:

Bailey Cox—Volleyball

Aiyanna Souza—Competitive Cheer

Christian Williams—Competition Cheer

Kh’Mya Mosely—Competition Cheer

Amil Buchanan—Competition Cheer

Brian Hamilton—Boys Basketball

Nicholas Williams—Boys Basketball

Mykeem Gant—Boys Basketball/All-State Basketball

Stephen LaPresta—Wrestling

Amaya LaPresta—Wrestling

Teacher and Support Staff recognitions for February were announced as well:

Support Staff:

Bells Elementary School—Shirley Singleton (np)

Colleton County Middle School—Audrey Ruth

Cottageville Elementary School—Elizabeth Green

Forest Hill Elementary Schyool—Angie Gillison (np)

Northside Elementary School—Makaylah Bennett

Thunderbolt Career and Technology Center—Karen Jenkins (np)


Bells Elementary School—Deidre Bamberg

Colleton County Middle School—MarilynBrown

Cottageville Elementary School—Amy Singleton

Forest Hills Elementary School—Adeema Obieson

Northside Elementary School—Leslie Ackerley

Thunderbolt Career and Technology Center—Michael Swearingen

Teachers from Colleton County Middle School were recognized for going above and beyond their duty to help the school. These teachers at CCMS agreed to make shifts in instructional schedules to assist with the immediate needs of the school. Mrs. Williams commended CCMS Principal Eddie Peeples for recognizing a need and developing a plan of action and implementing it. She also praised the teachers for making the necessary changes for the betterment of their school when they could have said no. Those recognized were:

Debra O’Quinn

Carolyn Anderson

Wendy Strickland

Robin Mabry

Alyssa Fender

Nikita Holmes

Tamera Davis (2nd from rt)

Principal Eddie Peeples

Coach recognition

And for his work and dedication to community Coach Dominic Kahee was honored. Coach Kahee has also been featured on Fox24 for his successful basketball season and his signature backpack.