Walterboro Mayor Young has two challengers in city election



Longtime and incumbent Walterboro Mayor Bill Young is facing two new challengers for the city’s upcoming mayoral race.

Young will face new mayoral candidates Chrissy Johnson and Alex Cavazzori in the upcoming city election.

Voters will also be choosing city council candidates in the Nov. 2nd Walterboro municipal election. City council candidates are incumbents Carl Brown, Greg Pryor and James Broderick.

Filing for mayoral and city council candidates closed at noon on Friday, Sept. 3rd.

City residents who are not yet registered to vote still have time to get registered.

Any resident who wants to vote in an upcoming election and who is not yet registered to vote can do so now. The voter registration deadline for these elections Oct. 3rd.

To register, visit the Voter Registration & Elections Office at 2471 Jefferies Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488 or register online at

Voter registration by mail applications will be accepted if postmarked by Monday, October 4.

Absentee ballots may be requested now from the Colleton County Voter Registration and Elections Office by calling 843-549-2842. Anyone wanting to cast their absentee ballot in person can do this beginning Monday, Oct. 4th by going to local Voter Registration & Elections Office, which is located at 2471 Jefferies Highway in Walterboro. Absentee ballots done in person will continue from October 4 until 5:00 p.m. on the day before the election.

The elections office is open Monday-Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

In other election news:


Three people will be running for open seats on Cottageville Town Council. These candidates are Walter “Will” Williams, who is running to fill an unexpired term on council; Elizabeth Green, who is running for town council; and Jay McGrew, who is also running for town council.

This is a non-partisan election, meaning there is no political affiliation for any candidate.

The Cottageville Town Council election will be held on Nov. 2nd.


In Smoaks, the filing deadline has passed and there are two people running for Smoaks Town Council – Jimmy Avant and William Ty Barnes.

This is a non-partisan election. The Smoaks election will be held on Nov. 2nd.


In Lodge, two people are running against each other in hopes of becoming the town’s next mayor. Candidates Larry Carter, Sr. and Richard Christopher Smith have both filed to run for mayor. Candidates who have filed to run for Lodge Town Council are Brenda Connelly, E. Richard “Bo” Ryan, Rose S. Varnadoe and Christy C. Terry.

The Lodge election for mayor and for town council will be held on Nov. 2nd.

Edisto Beach

Only one person in Edisto Beach will be on the ballot for the town’s upcoming special mayoral election. Crawford Moore is the sole candidate seeking the town’s mayoral spot.

Moore, who is also the town’s current interim mayor, will fill a two-year spot left on the seat’s four-year term. The current two-year vacancy was created when former Mayor Jane Darby resigned on August 5th, leaving two years into the four-year term.

Additionally, Edisto Beach has two open seats for its town council. Filing for these council seats has ended, and the candidates who have filed to run for these two council seats are James “Jay” R. Watts II and Robert “Bob” N. Renner.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here