School board filing opens in one week


By Heather Ruppe

Any Colleton County resident wanting to seek election onto the Colleton County School Board can file starting August 1st.

Seats 2, 4, and 6 on the Colleton County School Board will be on the ballot in the upcoming November general election in Colleton County. Filling for all three of these seats opens at noon on Monday, August 1st and closes at noon on Friday, August 12th.

Anyone wanting to file for these school boards seats, or who has questions about filing, should contact the Colleton County Board of Elections Office. This office is located at 2471 Jefferies Highway in Walterboro. Their number is 843-549-2842.

These three school board seats will represent the newly-drawn districts on the school board. Last week, state leaders confirmed that the physical lines of each of the school boards’ seven districts have changed. These changes were signed into law by S.C. Gov. Henry McMaster on June 22nd. The new school board district reflect population shifts that happened within the county: some former districts are smaller and others have more people living in them, causing the need for the change in lines.

“The new lines reflect a population shift in our county,” said Colleton County School Board Chairman William Bowman, adding the school board does not govern these changes. “Everyone will have fair representation on the board,” he said, in a prior interview with this newspaper.

District Two is currently held by School Board member Tim Mabry. District Four is currently held by school board member and Chairman William Bowman. District 6 is currently held by school board member Harry Jenkins.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here