Five South Carolina Schools Receive National Blue Ribbon School Honors


PRESS RELEASE - Columbia, S.C. - U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona recognized five South Carolina schools nominated by State Superintendent of Educa-tion Molly Spearman as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2022. The recognition is based on schools' overall academic performance.

“We are extremely proud of these five South Carolina schools that have been hon-ored nationally for their academic excellence,” Spearman said. “This award is testa-ment to the hard work of students, teachers, staff, and families in these communities. These five schools are models of excellence for our entire state and nation.”

With its 39th cohort, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed ap-proximately 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools. The National Blue Ribbon School award affirms and validates the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in striving for – and attaining – exemplary achievement.

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The U.S. Department of Education invites National Blue Ribbon Schools nominations from the top education officials in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education.

The five South Carolina award winners were recognized in the “Exemplary High-Performing Schools” category, meaning they are among the state’s highest perform-ing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

The five South Carolina schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools are:

Brashier Middle College Charter High School

Charter Institute at Erskine

Fairfield Magnet for Math and Science

Fairfield County School District

Gold Hill Elementary School

Fort Mill School District

Mitchell Road Elementary School

Greenville County Schools

St. James Elementary School

Horry County Schools


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here