Election 2020 has record-breaking turnout


This year has been unusual and difficult, so the election couldn’t be ordinary either. Colleton residents showed up in record breaking numbers to vote early for the presidential election and local officials. 68.33% (19,384 total) voted of 28,368 registered: 9,203 on election day; 7,524 absentee on person; and 2,657 absentee by mail.
“We had over 500 people vote in one day here at the Voter Registration Office,” said Angela Upchurch, Board of Elections Director. “They were lined up through the parking lot.” Results are not official until verified by the state later this week.
After polls closed, voting results took a surprising twist in several precincts throughout Colleton as some Democrat incumbents lost votes to Republican candidates.
Results are as follows:
Presidential Candidates
Donald Trump (Rep), 10,396
Joseph R. Biden (Dem), 8,568
Roque (Rocky) De La Fuente (Alliance), 7
Jo Jorgensen (Lib), 178
Howie Hawkins (Green), 56
Sheriff Candidates
Buddy Hill (Rep), 10,542
Alyssa Bodison (Dem), 8,615
Clerk Of Court
Becky Hill (Rep), 10,700
Debra Bright (Dem), 8,449
Richard Harvey (Rep), 11,085
Miguel Koger (Dem), 8,058
County Council
District 23: Philip Taylor (Dem) (unopposed), 7,267
District 45: Joe Flowers (Rep), 6,397
Sabrina Johnson (Dem), 2,969
School Board
District 1: Charles Murdaugh, 1,562
Tyeesha Aiken, 693
District 3: Sharon Witkin (unopposed) 1,848
District 5: Mary Jones, 905
J.D. Davis, 381
P.A. Pournelle, 407
District 7: Patricia Simmons (unopposed) 1,929
U.S. Senate

Lindsey Graham (Rep), 10,029
Jaime Harrison (Dem), 8,805
Bill Bledsoe (Con), 362
U.S. House
District 1: Nancy Mace (Rep), 677
Joe Cunningham (Dem), 275
District 6: James Clyburn (Dem), 8,567
John McCollum (Rep), 9,405
Mark Hackett (Con), 240
S.C. State Senate
District 39: Vernon Stephens (Dem), 1,921
Tom Connor (Rep), 3,370
District 40: Brad Hutto (Dem) (unopposed), 3,896
District 43: Richard Hricik (Dem), 192
Chip Campsen (Rep), 768
District 45: Margie Bright Matthews (Dem), 4,457
Rodney Buncum (Rep), 2,082
S.C .State House
District 90: Justin Bamberg (Dem), 3,395
Glenn Posey (Rep), 5,002
District 97: Mandy Kimmons (Rep), 910
Ronee De Canio (Dem), 291
District 116: Chardale Murray (Dem), 1,092
Carroll O’neal (Rep), 1,562
District 121: Michael Rivers (Dem), 3,896
Erik Erickson (Rep), 2,916
Soil And Water Commission
Joshua Jones, 10,476
Solicitor Circuit 14
Duffy Stone (unopposed), 13,166.
Watershed Conservation Willow Swamp
Bryan Crosby, 574


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here