Band of Blue hosts 43rd annual Walterboro Band Classic


The Colleton County High School Band of Blue hosted the 43rd annual Walterboro Band Classic this past Saturday Nov. 14.

For the first time, the annual event was a virtual exhibition. Bands from all over South Carolina and Georgia sent in video tapes of their recent performances. The Band of Blue hosted the “watch party” type event from 1-4 p.m., uploading each group’s performance every 10 minutes. Well over 1,000 fans and parents attended this online event that featured 17 total bands.

The decision to go totally virtual was decided in early September as an alternative to hosting the annual competition. With so many people from different schools possibly attending, it was not safe to host the event in person. Only two in-person exhibitions were held this year in the upstate of South Carolina. Several programs did parent/school-only exhibitions including Colleton County. Colleton County was the only program to offer a totally virtual alternative.

Band of Blue Director Tom Finigan said, “It was different but fun! We want to thank all of the schools for saving band in South Carolina this fall! This was an excellent opportunity to showcase these 17 outstanding bands.”

Band videos were shown on the Band of Blue’s Event Page on Facebook. There were no placements or awards given. The fact that these bands were able to make music and share their performances was truly an honor. Finigan said, “We cheered from home and on line and we will always support our bands!”

The following bands performed this year at the 2020 Virtual Walterboro Band Classic:

Airport High School

Berkeley High School

Camden High School

Chesnee High School

Clover High School

Colleton County High School

Dreher High School

Easley High School

Effingham County High School

Goose Creek High School

James F. Byrnes High School

Lewisville High School

Lexington High School

North Augusta High School

Saluda High School

Ware Shoals High School

White Knoll High School

The associate band director is Nick Infinger and assistant directors are Cathy Meshach, Clay Blackwood and Thomas Finigan.

Color Guard instructor is Bailey Raez. Band staff is Cody Dalton, Maria Manaeva, Taylor Fussell, Megan Newton, Ryan Krywinski and William Finigan.

The 2020 Band of Blue Drum Majors are Chandler Ballew and Rhaynie Bonjiorno.

Band Captain is Sydney Howard.

Brass Captain is Jermia Christian.

Woodwind Captain is Christina Morrall.

Guard Captains are Adashia Goetee and Morgan Hadwin.

Percussion Captains are George Ritchie and Bradley Westbury.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment