Students, teachers honored for accomplishments

by | November 28, 2019 5:00 pm

Last Updated: November 26, 2019 at 12:24 pm

The Colleton County School Board’s Office of Curriculum and Instruction recognized teachers and students who met the criteria for the Circle of Excellence Club on Tuesday Nov. 19 at the Colleton County High School’s Performing Arts Center.

The State of South Carolina requires all students to take several assessments throughout their school career. This past year, Colleton students participated in the South Carolina Palmetto Assessment of State Standards or SCPASS for Science and Social Studies for grades 4-8, the South Carolina College and Career Ready Assessment or SC READY in English language arts and mathematics for grades 3-8, and the End of Course Assessment in biology, algebra I, English I and U.S. history for grades 8-11.

Students and teachers who excelled in these areas were chosen to be part of the Circle of Excellence Club. Earning this distinction were 167 students and eight teachers.

To become eligible, students had to earn an exemplary score on at least two out of three tests for SCPASS and SCReady or a 100% scale score on any End of Course Assessment. For teachers to become eligible, they must have met or exceeded the state average in the percentage of students exceeding standard on national or state assessments.

Teachers who met or exceeded the state average in the percentage of students exceeding standard on national or state assessments were: Jessica Reeves, NES, 3rd grade, ELA (English language arts) and math; Kimberly Wood, NES, 4th grade, ELA and science; Michelle Bell, CCMS, 8th grade, math and End of Course; Tiffany Brewer, CCMS, 7th Grade, ELA; Melanie Henderson, CCMS, 8th Grade, ELA and End of Course; Jane McRoy, CCMS, 8th Grade, science; Dawn Young, CCMS, 7th grade, math; and Ryan Pearson, CCHS, U.S. history.

The following students earned the distinction of exemplary in all content areas of SCReady and SCPASS.  These students received a lanyard, pin, and certificate.  These students were: Roger Adams, Joseph   Arkin, Brianna Banks, Zoey Miles Bernesto, Heidi Biering, Marley       Bishop, Jaden Blanding, La’Trice Blanding, Zavion Bright, Anna Brown, Lee Ann Bryan, Zoe Buckner, Yair Caudillo, Noelle       Cobbs, Jenna Cox, Hannah Craven, Brett Creel, Alan Deloach, Noah Dicks, Millie Drew, Natalie French, Zoe Gabriel, Cadence Garvin, Jonah Garvin, Brayden Gehrig, Gabriella Green, Aiden Hall, James Hampson, Madison Hand, John Harrison, D’Kari Henry-Riley, Reese Hiers, Tula Hildebrand, Elliot Holt, Dezmyne Jenkins, Kendall Jirel, Nicholas Jones, Lily Kilpatrick, Jakema Kinsey, Allen Lemacks, Dalton Litchfield, Edna Malpica-Perez, O’Keefe Martin,  Colby McCall, Scarlett Mixson, Laila Moore, Madysen Myers, Lillianna Nava, Peyton Nettles, Lillian Owens, Mason Owens, Gracie Pearson, Jalyn Perry, Jacqueline Ramirez, Derrick Ridgeway, Cheyanne Risher, Hailey Sarcinella, Collin Sipe, Brooklyn Stuard, Jayden Teasdell, Isaac Tuten, Harly Vargas, Sophie Varn, William Varnadoe, Tyler       Warren, Jordyn Way, Philip Witkin.

Students who earned exemplary performance on two of their three state assessment tests received a lanyard, pin, and certificate.  These students were:  Bryan Adams, Yahaira, Aquino, Grahame Behie, Julian Braecklein, MacKayla Connelly, Alayna Creel, Cohen Crosby, Morgan Edens, Jadon Edwards, Natalie Fender, Christopher Fraser, Brian Gerard, Jocelyn Gooch, Ryan Hampson, Samantha Henderson, Jon Hiers, Kiana Hill, Brandon Holt, Kaylynne Huskey, Addison Jenkins, Desiree Jenkins, Sydney Jenkins, Winston Jiang Li, Avery Jirel, Chace  Jones, Pranjal Joshi, Adam Keen, Austin Kitler, Hayden Lee, Loquaca Legree, Emma Marin, Christian McCloud, Katelyn McCloud, Morgan McMillon, Ronald Miller, Austin Montague, Jeremy Morris, Janiecea Noon, William Norris, Sean Nunez, Raleigh   Obenaus, Samuel O’Quinn, Brantley Padgett, Lisa Patel, Iannayshqa Perez, Courtney Polk, Anthony Ridgeway, Pelenato Rosen, Summer Ross, Ezekiel Sanders, Isabella Smith, Matthew     Smoak, Shannon Smoak, Calvin Souder, Alexandria Stephens, Jake Still, Olivia Sumner, Alexis Sutton, Gabriel Thomas, Anna  Timmons, Colson Varnadoe, Joelliane Vasquez, Jacob Velazquez, Marchale Walker and Cayson Warner.

The following students earned a 100-scale score on the End of Course for either algebra I, English I, biology, or U.S. history. These students received a lanyard, pin, trophy, and certificate:  James Ackerman, Thomas Bunton, Koble Burnett, Kaitlyn DuBois, Marley Garvin, Sean Henderson, Ronald       Nettles, Joshua Sexton, Janet Taylor, Elizabeth, Tharp, and Priscilla Weatherup.

Two students scored exemplary on all three assessments for SCReady and SCPASS along with a 100-scale score on an End-of-Course exam.   Keane Hickman and Adriana Marin received a lanyard, pin, trophy, and certificate.

Three students scored exemplary on two of three assessments for SCReady and SCPASS along with a 100 score on an End-of-Course exam. Dalaney Buxton, Grant Kilpatrick, and Ashley Perdomo received a lanyard, pin, trophy, and certificate.

The students who scored the highest scale score in English language arts for their grade levels and received trophies were: Hannah Craven, Aiden Hall, Tula Hildebrand, Kendall Jirel, Jeremy Morris, Madysen Myers, Laynie Sanders, Hailey Sarcinella, Olivia Sumner, and Harly Vargas.

The students who scored the highest scale score in math for their grade levels and received trophies were:  Yair Caudillo, Hannah Craven, Elliot Holt, Mason Owens, Collin Sipe, and Jake Still.

Other board matters were:

• Clean and Safe Schools of the Month and Horizon awards for the month of October were presented to Bells Elementary (first place), Forest Hills (second place), and Cottageville Elementary (third place).

• Bus driver Ashia Stephens requested that the board implement improved disciplinary rules for bus riders. The board agreed review the current policy.

• The 2018-2019 Audit Report was approved, and no inconsistencies or errors were found.

• Superintendent Dr. Franklin Foster agreed to meet with the board to revisit the district’s Progressive Discipline Program (PDP) after its initial implementation during the first semester of school.

• Construction on the new district office building has been delayed due to continuing required inspections. When those inspections are completed, final construction will commence.


No comments yet.

By submitting a comment you grant Walterboro Live a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate and irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin’s discretion. Your email is used for verification purposes only, it will never be shared.

© Copyright 2019 | Walterboro Live