Band Classic set this Saturday | News | The Press and Standard

by | September 29, 2017 5:00 am

Last Updated: September 27, 2017 at 11:36 am

The 40th annual Walterboro Band Classic will be Saturday Sept. 30 at Colleton County High School with 13 area bands scheduled to compete.
Judges for the event include Greg Gajownik of Atlanta, Ga., music performance (ensemble); Andre` Feagin of Myrtle Beach, music individual (field); Bill Locklear of Summerville, Ga., music effect; Bill Young of Walterboro, visual performance (ensemble); Clark Cothran of Columbia, visual individual (field); and Clayton Parker of Columbia, visual effect.
The Band of Blue will perform its new program “The Lost Boy” about 8:15 p.m. The show is about Peter Pan and the Lost Boys missing their mother. Wendy and Captain Hook are also part of the show along with some iconic props. The opener has music from Ruth B. and Sir Malcom Arnold’s “Vivace” from the Four Scottish Dances. The ballad is the music from the hymn “I’m Dreaming of Home” from the movie “Jeaux Noel.” The drum solo is an original composition by Austin Sanders.
The Colleton County High School Band of Blue placed 2nd in class 5A at 2017 White Knoll High School “Silver Fall Showcase” this past Saturday, September 23, 2017.
The Band of Blue placed second with an excellent rating score of 78.2 at the White Knoll Silver Fall Showcase on Sept. 23. Placing first was River Bluff High School with 85.6; second, Colleton County, 78.2; and third, Lugoff Elgin High School, 77.55
The Band Directors are: Tom Finigan, Nick Infinger, Gary Stroupe and Cathy Meshach. Guard and Visual Instructor is William Thomas and Percussion Instructor is Josh Craven. Graduate assistants include Katie Binall, Katie Hudson, Eric Ferguson, Cassie Headden, Thomas Finigan and Chakeira Allen.
Support staff includes drill design by Bob Buckner, music arrangements by Frank Sullivan and Bill Locklear.
Drum Majors are Miriam Yale, Hunter Pinckney and Megan Newton
Band Captains: Anthony Crimley and Cody Dalton
Assistant Captain: Maria Manaeva, Shakayla Gill
Guard Captains: Makayla Smith and Shaquaney Kelly
Percussion Captains: Curtis Nesmith and Seyvon Broughton
Ww Lieutenant: Cassidy Carter, Taylor Fussell and Sydney Wolfe
Brass Lieutenants: Robert Dent, Austin Ballew and Aaron Breedlove
Percussion Lieutenants: Ryan Russell and Cheyanne Rice
Quarter Masters: Jim Bunton, Nick Jackson, Caleb Grinberg, Joel Crosby, Jacob Havers, Logan Bailey, Bryan Ketchum, William Finigan and Tre Ferguson
Band Sergeants: Tylan Gant, Kevin Morales, Bailey Crosby, Deondre Way, Michaela Bennett, Willow Roberts

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Walterboro Live