CCHS Athletics honor Cougars | Sports | The Press and Standard

by | May 27, 2016 5:00 am

Last Updated: May 25, 2016 at 2:39 pm

The Colleton County High Athletic Department held its Spring Athletic Awards Ceremony in the Performing Arts Center this past Sunday afternoon, May 22. Both winter and spring sports were honored during the event including basketball, wrestling, tennis, cheer, soccer, baseball, softball and track.
Chris Collins, athletic director for CCHS, welcomed the athletes and guests to the ceremony and thanked the community for its help in making the Colleton County Athletic Program a success during the past year. Collins also thanked Dr. Franklin Foster, superintendent, and Dr. Melissa Crosby, principal, for their support throughout the year and applauded the efforts of the coaching staff throughout the winter and spring seasons.
The coaches making presentations included: Boys Basketball – Maurice Simmons, Girls Basketball-Perry Smalls, Wrestling-Packy Burke, Tennis-Allyson Griffin, Cheer-Emilee Kerr, Girls Soccer-Dan Wiggins, Boys Soccer-Shane Fidler, Baseball-Percy Knight, Softball-Rusty Adams, Track-Amondre Johnson and George Smith.
Selected for All-Region for spring sports: Kenny Johnson-Tennis, Charles Bailey-Tennis, Amiyah Robinson-Soccer, Allyn Wiggins-Soccer, Shelton Reynolds-Soccer, Brian Johnson-Soccer, Henry Gibson-Baseball, Michael Thigpen-Baseball and Brittney Risher-Softball, Isaac Sauls-Pole Vault, Karl Levine-Long Jump, Tyreke Simmons-100-Meter and the 4X100 Relay Team consisting of Josh Bredell, Tykeem Johnson, Anthony Bellamy and Tyreke Simmons.
The 2016 Winter and Spring Awards recipients included:
CHEERLEADING: Thaliah  Luat-Captain’s Award, Jourdan Kinsey-Cheer Positivity Award, Katelyn Sightler-Rookie of the Year, Mahogany Richards-JV Cheerleader of the Year.
BOYS BASKETBALL: Jonathan Monroe-Coach’s Award, Karl Levine Jr.-Most Improved, Tristan Nieves-“MVP” Iron Cougar Award, Tyler Gant-JV MVP, Javon Williams-JV Most Improved and Lance Calcutt-Leadership Award.
GIRLS BASKETBALL: Tabitha Monroe-Academic Award, Scha’Mari Stephens-Cougar Award, Jasmine Stanley-Most Outstanding, India Stokes-JV Academic Award.
TENNIS: Kenny Johnson-Leadership Award, Joe Sanders-Most Improved.
BOYS SOCCER: Garrett Tyler-Mental Toughness, Campbell Pryor-Captain’s Award, Lance Calcutt-Rookie of the Year, Caleb Grinberg-JV Player of the Year.
GIRLS SOCCER: Allyn Wiggins-MVP, Stephanie Hooker-Rookie of the Year, Amber Warren-Coach’s Choice Award, Cameryn Coursen-JV Coach’s Choice Award, Samantha Calcutt-Defensive Hustle Award, Faith Allen-Offensive Hustle Award, Karis Thomas-Midfield Hustle Award and Azalea Cup All-Tournament Team-Allyn Wiggins and Rachel Dandridge.
WRESTLING: Caleb O’Quinn-Academic Award and Wrestler of the Year, Wyatt O’Quinn-Rookie of the Year, Jordan Scites-JV Wrestler of the Year. SOFTBALL: Skylar Chambers-Coach’s Award, Jessica McDowell-Golden Glove Award, Brittney Risher-Silver Slugger Award, JV Coach’s Award-Marci Inabinett.
BASEBALL: Michael Thigpen-Silver Slugger Award, Kaleb Gibson-Pitching Ace, Henry Gibson-Rookie of the Year, Chase Hadwin-JV MVP.
BOYS TRACK: Karl Levine Jr.-Best Jumper, Isaac Sauls-Best Vaulter, Tyreke Simmons-MVP, Josh Breddell-Best Track Athlete, George Crosby-Best Thrower.
GIRLS TRACK AND FIELD: Megan Calloway–Top Thrower, Kennedy Crosby–Top Sprinter, Victoria Wyman–Top Pole Vaulter, Top High Jumper, Shantasia Allen–Top Hurdler, Grayson Altman–Top  400/800-Meter Runner, Abigail Altman–Top 1600/3200-Meter Runner and Soleil Fryar-Sims–Long and Triple Jumper.


No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Walterboro Live