window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-123779972-1');

Whetsell re-elected to Colleton County Council

by | November 7, 2018 9:56 am

Colleton County Councilman W. Gene Whetsell made his way through a long Election Day to finish with another four-year term.
When the votes were counted Whetsell had collected 7,116 votes to Democratic challenger David Gar Linder’s 6,026 votes.
In a lot of ways, Whetsell’s re-election bid of 2018 was a lot like his race in 2014. In both elections, the race for county council’s at-large seat was the only contested race in county government.In 2014, Whetsell received 5,754 votes for 53.45 percent while his Democratic challenger Joe Hamilton received 5,006 votes, 46.50 percent.
In the other 2018 county government races, Councilman Steven Murdaugh, who holds one of the two seats from the Western District, was unopposed in both the Republican primary and General Election. Murdaugh received 4,716 votes in Tuesday’s unofficial count.
Art Williams went unchallenged in his bid for one of the two council seats from the Eastern District.
Williams defeated incumbent Colleton County Councilman Evon Robinson in a three-man race in the June 12 Democratic primary. No Republican filed a statement of candidacy for the seat. Williams received 4,639 votes Tuesday.
Also unopposed in the General Election were Probate Judge Ashley Heaton Amundson, Colleton County Treasurer Becky Hill and Colleton County Auditor Jeff B. Slocum.
Amundson received 8,774 votes, Hill received 8,395 votes and Slocum received 8,315 votes.

No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Walterboro Live