Numbers unchanged in vote certification | News | The Press and Standard

by | November 15, 2017 11:53 am

The numbers didn’t change when the results of the Nov. 7 elections in Walterboro and Cottageville were certified during a pair of meetings at the Colleton County Board of Voter Registration and Elections office.
The members of the Walterboro Election Commission gathered at the board office on Jefferies Highway at 11 a.m. on Nov. 9.
The closeness of the race for the third Walterboro council post required an automatic recount of the council votes. There was a six-vote difference between Greg Pryor and Jimmy Syfrett.
An automatic recount is required when the difference between candidates is less than one percent of the total vote.
When the recount was conducted, the numbers had not changed.
Incumbent James Broderick was the top voter getter in the council race with 529, followed by Carl Brown with 521 votes.
Pryor captured the third seat on council with 487 votes, narrowly defeating incumbent Syfrett, who received 481 votes.
Rounding out the field were Ben Mitchell with 280 votes and Peggy Hammond with 266 votes.
Broderick, Brown and Pryor were certified as winning the election.
Incumbent Mayor Bill Young defeated challenger Marguerite Chrissy Johnson, 680 to 333, and was certified the winner.
The members of the Colleton County Voter Registration and Elections Board met at the office at 9 a.m. on Nov. 9 to certify the results of the Cottageville election.
The unofficial vote totals reported election night did not change.
Howard Lockwood Sr. with 61 votes, and Ted Underwood, 47 votes, were certified as Cottageville’s new council members, defeating incumbent Chuck Hudson, 22 votes, and Tina Peterson, 21 votes.


No comments yet.

The comments are closed.

© Copyright 2019 | Walterboro Live